SPECIAL: List of BCA T20 Cup century-makers following Kyle Corbin’s 112 for UWI against Lords

Bridgetown, Barbados, September 15 - (www.bcacricket.org) - With Kyle Corbin of Sagicor Life UWI ‘A’ adding his name to the list of century-makers in the BCA Elite/Division 1 Twenty20 Championship in Series 5, the record five-time champions also have a couple other reasons to show off in crushing Lords by a whopping 176 runs at 3Ws Oval.

The experienced Corbin and captain Johann Jeremiah featured in a record first wicket partnership of exactly 200 in 16.4 overs as UWI ‘A’ amassed 236 for four off 20 overs on September 12.

It is the only total in excess of 200 this season in the 20-team Tournament - the biggest ever.

The 30-year-old Corbin slammed 112 off 56 balls with five fours and ten sixes - the 18th century in the Competition - while left-hander Jeremiah, a Grenadian, made 89 off 52 deliveries including nine fours and five sixes after UWI were sent in.

Corbin reached his hundred off 50 balls, containing five fours and nine sixes.

Lords, the Lowlands, St. Lucy side in only their third T20 Cup season, were bowled out for 60 in 17.5 overs. (See summarised scores, results and Points after Series 5).

Corbin’s ton marks a record fifth by a UWI batsman. (NB: Jonathan Carter has scored two centuries) in the Tournament, which started in 2008.

The other UWI century-makers are Shacaya Thomas and Rovman Powell - both Jamaicans.

Apart from Jonathan Carter, three other batsmen including his younger brother and fellow left-hander, David Carter (for Wildey), have also scored two centuries. The others are Dwayne Rommel Smith (YMPC) and Shai Hope (Pickwick).

The bespectacled David Carter boasts as well of being the only batsman to score back-to-back centuries - and remarkably so on consecutive days, and unbeaten - against St. Catherine and Yorkshire at the age of 24 in 2015.

The 3Ws Oval now joins Friendship as the venue for the most centuries (four). Next is line with three is the SJPI ground.

Following is the list of century-makers in the BCA T20 Championship:

2008 - One.

Kirk Gibson (Carlton) 109 (50 balls, 13 fours, 7 sixes) v Barbados Youth at Lester Vaughan, Cane Garden. May 18. Carlton won by six wickets.


2011 – One.

Dwayne R. Smith (YMPC) 101 (64 balls, 8 fours, 7 sixes) v UWI at 3Ws Oval. November 27. YMPC won by three runs.


2012 – Two.

Dwayne R. Smith (YMPC) 112 (64 balls, 12 fours, 5 sixes) v Yorkshire at Friendship. November 3. NB: Smith also took a hat-trick en route to figures of four for 14 off four overs, and held two catches. YMPC won by 151 runs.

Justin Brathwaite (LIME) 101 (56 balls, 5 fours, 8 sixes) v Carlton at Desmond Haynes Oval. November 11. LIME won by seven wickets.


2013 – One.

Shacaya Thomas (UWI) 131 not out (65 balls, 12 fours, 9 sixes) v BCL at Blenheim 'A'. July 27. UWI won by 127 runs.


2014 – Three.

Ashley Nurse (LIME) 106 not out (51 balls, 10 fours, 5 sixes) v BDFSP at Paragon. May 3. LIME won by 64 runs.

Jonathan Carter (UWI) 105 (44 balls, 11 fours, 8 sixes) v Yorkshire at Friendship. May 4. UWI won by 77 runs.

Davon Goodman (BCL) 115 (49 balls, 9 fours, 10 sixes) v Foundation at Church Hill. May 11. BCL won by 25 runs. NB: The match produced a record 483 runs.


2015 – Three.

Jonathan Carter (UWI) 110 (49 balls, 4 fours, 10 sixes) v Spartan at 3Ws Oval. May 23. UWI won by 138 runs.

David Carter (Wildey) 116 not out (65 balls, 11 fours, 6 sixes) v St. Catherine at SJPI. May 23. Wildey won by five wickets.

David Carter (Wildey) 110 not out (58 balls, 11 fours, 6 sixes) v Yorkshire at Friendship. May 24. Wildey won by 61 runs.


2016 – Two.

Shakeel Richards (Carlton) 100 (57 balls, 10 fours, 5 sixes) v Combermere at Deighton Griffith, Kingsland. April 17. Carlton won by 16 runs.

Rovman Powell (UWI) 120 not out (53 balls, 3 fours, 12 sixes) v Pickwick at 3Ws Oval. June 14. UWI won by 95 runs.


2018 - One.

Shai Hope (Pickwick) 104 (64 balls, 10 fours, 7 sixes) v Foundation at Friendship. April 22. Pickwick won by 7 runs (D/L/S method).


2019 - Two.

Shai Hope (Pickwick) 126 (54 balls, 10 fours, 10 sixes) v Foundation at SJPI. April 6. Pickwick won by 153 runs.

Kyle Mayers (Carlton) 111 not out (63 balls, 9 fours, 7 sixes) v Barbados Youth at Desmond Haynes Oval. April 20. Carlton won by 57 runs.


2020 - Two

Zachary McCaskie (Wildey) 106 (51 balls, 7 fours, 8 sixes) v Foundation at SJPI. September 5. Wildey won by 70 runs.

Kyle Corbin (UWI ‘A’) 112 (56 balls, 5 fours, 10 sixes) v Lords at 3Ws Oval. September 12. UWI won by 176 runs.

We are re-designing the new BCAcricket.org website.

This temporary website will allow viewers to read the latest articles without interruption, over the next couple weeks.

Previous Article Next Article