URGENT: CWI to host Professional Players Draft for 2020-21 season on June 15

St. John’s, Antigua, June 13 - (www.bcacricket.org) – Cricket West Indies (CWI) announced tonight that it will host the West Indies Professional Players Draft for the 2020-21 Colonial Medical Insurance Super50 Cup and the first-class four-day Championship, on Monday June 15, via a Zoom meeting.

The draft will be conducted over two rounds and each franchise must pick a player in each round. Based on CWI’s draft structure, each franchise will contract a minimum of 15 players, 13 pre-selected and the two from the player pool during the live draft. The event will be monitored by CWI’s auditors KPMG to ensure that the process is carried out efficiently and smoothly.

CWI’s Cricket Operations Manager, Roland Holder said: “The draft, now in its seventh (7th) year, demonstrates that CWI remains committed to our professional cricket structure and system, even in these times of uncertainty from the COVID-19 pandemic. The ninety (90) regional players who will be awarded regional franchise contracts, will be able to train and practice professionally as CWI hopes for a return to regional cricket later this year.”  

For the 2020-21 season, each franchise will be allocated a pick number according to their final league position and performance of the franchise in the 2019-20 West Indies Championship. They will have 90 seconds in each round to make a pick. Where a selection is not made within this time period, the franchise will miss their turn and will have to wait until all of the other Franchises have made their selection in that round, before making its selection.

The CWI Board of Directors has agreed that the requirement to contract at least two players from outside of the Franchise territory will not apply to the 2020-21 season. 

Teams will pick in the reverse order in which they finished the last first-class Championship. Hence, Leeward Islands Hurricanes will go first, followed by Windward Islands Volcanoes, Jamaica Scorpions, Guyana Jaguars, Trinidad and Tobago Red Force and runaway champions Barbados Pride.

It was the 23rd regional first-class title for Barbados - the most by a territory since the inception of sponsored Championships in 1966.

Final Points: Barbados Pride 134.8, Trinidad & Tobago Red Force 94.6, Guyana Jaguars 91.8, Jamaica Scorpions  91.8, Windward Islands Volcanoes 78, Leeward Islands Hurricanes 52.8.

In keeping with a wide range of short-term recommendations from the CWI Financial Strategy Advisory Committee that were approved by the Board of Directors at the end of May, all contracts will be awarded for a six-month term, at a 50% reduced value.

Following is the list of players for the draft, accurate as of June 13, 2020.

NB: This list is subject to change based on players submitting their required confirmation documentation ahead of the draft deadline.

Barbados Pride - Kraigg Brathwaite, Shayne Moseley, Jonathan Carter, Justin Greaves, Kyle Mayers, Tevyn Walcott, Ashley Nurse, Jomel Warrican, Keon Harding, Chemar Holder, Dominic Drakes, Akeem Jordan, Nicholas Kirton.

Guyana Jaguars - Veerasammy Permaul, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Leon Johnson, Keon Joseph, Raymon Reifer *OHT, Gudakesh Motie, Anthony Bramble, Christopher Barnwell, Vishaul Singh, Nial Smith, Akshaya Persaud, Kevin Sinclair.

Jamaica Scorpions - John Campbell, Jermaine Blackwood, Nkrumah Bonner, Paul Palmer Jr, Marquino Mindley, Derval Green, Andre McCarthy, Nicholson Gordon, Akim Fraser, Dennis Bulli, Patrick Harty, Aldaine Thomas, Jeavor Royal.

Leeward Islands Hurricanes - Jahmar Hamilton, Sheno Berridge, Jeremiah Louis, Amir Jangoo *OHT, Devon Thomas, Terance Warde, Colin Archibald, Keacy Carty, Montcin Hodge, Quinton Boatswain, Ross Powell, Nino Henry, Kian Pemberton.

Trinidad & Tobago Red Force - Darren Bravo, Imran Khan, Jason Mohammed, Uthman Muhammad, Khary Pierre, Jayden Seales, Terrance Hinds, Jeremy Solozano, Joshua DaSilva, Anderson Phillip, Akeal Hosein, Denesh Ramdin, Keagan Simmons.

Windward Islands Volcanoes - Keron Cottoy, Kenneth Dember, Kavem Hodge, Ryan John, Shermon Lewis, Obed McCoy, Preston McSween, Denis Smith, Devon Smith, Josh Thomas, Desron Maloney, Kimani Melius, Jamaal James. 

We are re-designing the new BCAcricket.org website.

This temporary website will allow viewers to read the latest articles without interruption, over the next couple weeks.

Previous Article Next Article