Holder rested for ODI series against Ireland

St. John’s, Antigua, January 1 – (www.bcacricket.org) - Experienced West Indies fast bowling all-rounder Jason Holder has been rested for the three-match One-Day International series against Ireland.

In naming a 14-man squad today for the first two Day/Night matches at Kensington Oval on January 7 and 9, lead selector Roger Harper explained why Test captain Holder has been given a break following the recent tour to India which included a off-one Test against Afghanistan as well as ODI and Twenty20 Internationals against India.

“The decision was taken to rest Jason due to the heavy workload he has had over the last year. With an important year ahead for West Indies cricket, we saw this as the best opportunity to give him a break to recharge his batteries and refresh his mind so he could be ready to perform at his best as our Test captain throughout 2020,  as the number one ranked all-rounder in Test cricket and an important member of the team in the white ball formats,” Harper said. 

“The Afghanistan and Indian series told me that the team is making very positive strides. Winning the ODIs against Afghanistan, our first ODI series win for five years, followed by the very competitive performance in against India is testament to that.  The team demonstrated a determination to compete and gave it every effort. Against India the batting was consistent and while the bowling had its moments, it is clear that we have to improve our ‘death’ bowling. However, the fact that the team played in such an organised and competitive manner consistently augurs well going forward. 

“This series against Ireland offers us the opportunity to build on the performances in India, build confidence as a team and for individual players.  Just like the series against Afghanistan, the Ireland series is an important one for us, one we must win.” 

The panel also named a 13-man CWI President’s XI squad to face Ireland in a 50-over warm-up match at the Three Ws Oval on Saturday.

West Indies squad - Kieron Pollard (Captain), Sunil Ambris, Roston Chase, Sheldon Cottrell, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Evin Lewis, Keemo Paul, Khary Pierre, Nicholas Pooran, Romario Shepherd, Hayden Walsh jr.

CWI President’s XI squad - Darren Bravo (Captain), Sunil Ambris, Sheeno Berridge, Nkrumah Bonner, Dennis Bulli, Joshua DaSilva, Justin Greaves, Akeem Jordan, Brandon King, Yannick Ottley, Kieran Powell, Romario Shepherd, Oshane Thomas.

We are re-designing the new BCAcricket.org website.

This temporary website will allow viewers to read the latest articles without interruption, over the next couple weeks.

Previous Article Next Article