Five national Under-19s in Barbados Under-23 team to tour Dominica

Bridgetown, Barbados, August 15 - ( - Five members of the champion Barbados Under-19 side at the recent Cricket West Indies (CWI) one-day Tournament in St. Vincent are included in a national Under-23 team to tour Dominica from August 22 to 30 for three 50-over and two Twenty20 matches.

The five are all-rounders Nyeem Young and Matthew Forde, middle order batsman Antonio Morris, wicket-keeper/batsman Rivaldo Clarke and left-arm fast bowler Ramon Simmonds.

The team will be captained by 21-year-old Sagicor Life UWI batting all-rounder Nicholas Kirton.

Kirton and fast bowler Keon Harding of Carlton are the only players with first-class experience. Both have also played at the List A level.

The opening batsmen are Shian Brathwaite of Empire and Wildey’s Zachary McCaskie. Brathwaite has List A experience.

The other members of the 14-man squad are middle order batsmen Kadeem Alleyne (Empire) and Jadan Jones (Bayview Hospital YMPC), all-rounder Joshua Drakes (Spartan), left-arm spinner Camarie Boyce (Empire) and fast bowler Jarion Hoyte (Empire).

In a Media release, the Barbados Cricket Association (BCA) said that “consistent with its efforts at establishing a developmental pathway for its players, the selection of the squad underscores the Association’s commitment to providing quality opportunities for tomorrow’s senior representatives”.

BCA Director of Cricket, Steven Leslie, highlighted the importance of the tour not only to the personal and professional development of the players, but also in the broader context of Barbados’ preparation for the upcoming West Indies first-class and Super50 Championships.

“We expect that this tour will be of significance to all the players, most of whom would have represented Barbados at the junior level,” Leslie said.

“From a player pathway perspective, the BCA sees this as a critical component of the preparation for the 2019/20 first-class season and as a reminder (encouragement of sorts) to those players who may be on the cusp of representing the country,” he added.

Squad: Nicholas Kirton (captain), Kadeem Alleyne, Camarie Boyce, Shian Brathwaite, Rivaldo Clarke, Joshua Drakes, Matthew Forde, Keon Harding, Jarion Hoyte, Jadan Jones, Zachary McCaskie, Antonio Morris, Ramon Simmonds, Nyeem Young.

Management Unit: Dexter Toppin (head coach), Ryan Hinds (assistant coach), Bruce Cox (manager), Kwayne Darlymple (physiotherapist).

We are re-designing the new website.

This temporary website will allow viewers to read the latest articles without interruption, over the next couple weeks.

Previous Article Next Article