Six Barbadians in West Indies Under-19 squad for “Best v The Best” 3-match series

Kingstown, St. Vincent, August 7 - ( - Six players of the new Cricket West Indies (CWI) Under-19 one-day champions Barbados are among a 24-member squad, who will compete in a “Best v The Best” three-match series here on August 9, 11 and 14 in preparation for the ICC Youth World Cup in South Africa next year.

The six are inspirational captain and fast bowling all-rounder Nyeem Young, who played in the last Under-19 World Cup in New Zealand in 2018, exciting all-rounder Matthew Forde, who also bowls fast, attacking middle order batsman Antonio Morris, talented wicket-keeper/batsman Rivaldo Clarke and pacers Ramon Simmonds, who is a left-armer and Che Simmons.

The selection follows the just concluded rain-hit Tournament in which Barbados, who played aggressively, dethroned Guyana as champions.

“The squad of 24 represents 17 of the 19 (the other two are currently recovering from injuries) players that have been in the Programme since December 2018, plus seven players that impressed in the Regional Tournament,'' said Graeme West, the CWI High Performance manager and Under-19 head coach.

“With the Tournament reduced due to the inclement weather, the trial games provide further opportunities for the 24 to demonstrate their skills and make a claim for the group that will proceed into International engagements in the coming months. 

“The trial games will also provide opportunities to develop game planning and match awareness methods which will be crucial to the players growth and development as they move towards the World Cup in the New Year.

“The games will also assist in building a strong team unity and togetherness that will underpin the way the squad performs and represents the region,” West said.

The 2020 Under-19 World Cup is slated for January 17 to February 9. It will be the 13th edition and the second to be held in South Africa.

Squad: Kevlon Anderson, Daniel Beckford, Teddy Bishop, Rivaldo Clarke, Matthew Comerie, Matthew Forde, Elroy Francis Jr, Joshua James, Mbeki Joseph, Leonardo Julien, Avinash Mahabirsingh, Ricardo McIntosh, Kirk McKenzie, Kimani Melius, Antonio Morris, Ashmead Nedd, Rivaldo Ramlogan,  Jayden Seales,  Ramon Simmonds, Che Simmons, Sachin Singh,  Kelvin Umroa, Zwandi White, Nyeem Young.

We are re-designing the new website.

This temporary website will allow viewers to read the latest articles without interruption, over the next couple weeks.

Previous Article Next Article