Foundation to clash with St. Michael in BCA Schools' limited overs Under-19 quarter-finals

Bridgetown, Barbados, December 7 - ( - Defending champions D's Mega Styles Foundation will oppose St. Michael on home turf at Church Hill in the rescheduled quarter-finals of the badly rain-hit 2016 BCA Schools' Under-19, 40-over Competition on Thursday, December 8.

The other matches are: St. Leonard's v Queen's College at Richmond Gap; Nicholls Baking Combermere v Deighton Griffith at Kingsland and Harrison College v Alexandra at Crumpton Street.

Kingsland is hosting the Combermere-Deighton Griffith match due to the closure of Combermere because of environmental issues.

The semi-finals are slated for Sunday, December 11 with December 12 as a reserve day, with the final is set for Tuesday, December 13. The reserve day is December 14.

To underline how badly rain impacted on the Tournament, all matches in Zone ‘C’ were completely washed out and only one match in Zone ‘D’ was played.

A draw was held at the Secretariat of the BCA on December 2 to determine the zone winner as well as the second placed team in Zone ‘C’ and the second placed team in Zone ‘D’.

Regulation 5 (d) states, “In the zonal competition where two (2) or more teams have an equal number of points the higher placed team shall be determined by:

(a) most wins in the zonal competition, and if still equal,

(b) higher net run rate.

(c) the winner of the head to head match in that zone

(ii) If still not determined after applying (a), (b) or (c) above, a draw shall be made to determine the higher placed team”.

The zone winners shall be the “Home” teams for the quarter-finals, and a draw shall be made to determine the “Home” teams for the semi-finals.

The semi-finals line-up will be as follows:

Winner QF1 v Winner QF2 – Venue TBD by draw

Winner QF3 v Winner QF4 - Venue TBD by draw

Points after the preliminaries:

Zone A - Foundation 10 NRR (+3.677), Alexandra 10 NRR (+1.525), Daryll Jordan 8, Coleridge & Parry 6, SJPP 6.

Zone B - Combermere 10 NRR (+3.650), Queen’s College 10 NRR (+2.900), Graydon Sealy 8, KFC Ellerslie 6, Frederick Smith 6.

Zone C - St. Leonard’s 6 (Determined by Draw), Deighton Griffith 6 (Determined by Draw), Milo Lodge 6 (Determined by Draw), Lester Vaughan 6 (Determined by Draw).

Zone D - Harrison College 8, St. Michael 6 (Determined by Draw), Alleyne 6 (Determined by Draw), Barbados Community College 4.

Foundation captured the 2015 title by way of a five-wicket win with three balls to spare over Combermere in the Final at Kensington Oval.

We are re-designing the new website.

This temporary website will allow viewers to read the latest articles without interruption, over the next couple weeks.

Previous Article Next Article