Bravo, Jagessar lift T&T Red Force to third straight Final in NAGICO Super50

Port-of-Spain, Trinidad, January 20 - ( - Defending NAGICO Super50 champions Trinidad & Tobago Red Force advanced to their third straight final and 17th all told in regional one-day Championships with a 54-run win over Guyana Jaguars at Queen's Park Oval.

Set up by a splendid knock of 95 by left-hander Darren Bravo in the first Day/Night semi-final, Red Force scored 259 for nine off 50 overs after they were sent in.

The Jaguars, last year's losing finalists, were dismissed for 205 in 48.3 overs as off-spinner Jon Ros Jagessar grabbed three wickets .

Player-of-the-Match Bravo hit four fours and five sixes in his 108-ball innings before he was fifth out, caught at long-on by Raymon Reifer off left-arm spinner Veerasammy Permaul.

With another left-hander, Kjorn Ottley, who made 33, Bravo put on 85 in 19.5 overs for the third wicket.

Bravo and his West Indies team-mate, wicket-keeper/batsman Denesh Ramdin, then featured in the best partnership of the innings - 90 in 13.5 overs for the fourth wicket - before Ramdin fell to left-arm medium-pacer Reifer for 43 off 44 balls including five boundaries.

Bravo brought up his half-century off 71 balls with a tickled four to fine leg off left-arm spinner Gudakesh Motie, but he reserved his harshest punishment for the 20-year-old later on in the innings. With the score 200 for three to start the 44th over, Bravo lashed three sixes in the over, forcing Motie's removal from the attack.

Permaul was the leading wicket-taker with three for 56 off the overs.

The Jaguars started slowly and were up against it by the 20th over when they limped to 42 for three.

Ironically, one of their "own", Narsingh Deonarine, better known for his batting but whose off-spin bowling is more than handy, played a vital part in the early struggle by removing left-handers Assad Fudadin and veteran Shivnarine Chanderpaul in quick succession.

Fudadin, who hit a maiden limited overs century in the previous Group 'B' match against Combined Campuses & Colleges Marooners in St. Kitts, was leg before wicket for a painstaking nine off 30 balls after an opening stand of 26 in 12.1 overs with yet another left-hander, Vishaul Singh, while Chanderpaul was bowled off the inside edge for six to make it 38 for two in the 17th overs.

After Singh was outfoxed by occasional off-spinner Jason Mohammed, the Red Force captain, and swiftly stumped by Ramdin for 20 off 64 deliveries, skipper Leon Johnson and an enterprising Anthony Bamble lifted the tempo by adding 65 in 8.4 overs for the fourth wicket.

Johnson, the fourth of five left-handers in the top six, was removed by Jagessar for 20.

Wicket-keeper/batsman Bramble slammed 51 off 44 balls with two fours and four sixes before was stumped off left-arm spinner Akeal Hosein to leave the score 119 for five in the 31st over.

Jagessar was the leading wicket-taker with three for 36 off 9.3 overs.

Trinidad & Tobago now await the winners of the Windward Islands Volcanoes-Barbados Pride showdown on Thursday, for Saturday's final.

Star-studded Barbados Pride, who last won the title in 2014, will be seeking to contest an unprecedented 19th regional one-day Final.



E. Lewis c wk Bramble b Jacobs           20  (34 balls, 4x4)

K. Hope c Johnson b Jacobs                15  (21 balls, 2x4)

K. Ottley c Johnson b Motie                 33  (62 balls, 3x4)

D. Bravo c Reifer b Permaul                 95  (108 balls, 4x4, 5x6)

+D. Ramdin c Wintz b Reifer               43  (44 balls, 5x4)

*J. Mohammed c wk Bramble b Wintz    3  (5 balls)

N. Deonarine c Johnson b Wintz            7  (5 balls, 1x4)

A. Hosein c Reifer b Permaul                 3  (3 balls)

M. Richards not out                            16  (11 balls, 1x4, 1x6)

R. Emrit c Barnwell b Permaul              4   (7 balls)

J. Jagessar not out                              0  (0 balls)

Extras (b1, lb4, w15)                         20

TOTAL (9 wks, 50 overs)                   259

Fall of wickets: 1-39 (Hope, 8 ov), 2-44 (Lewis, 9.3), 3-129 (Ottley, 30.2), 4-219 (Ramdin, 44.1), 5-227 (Bravo, 45.1), 6-236 (Deonarine, 46.2), 7-236 (Mohammed, 46.3), 8-246 (Hosein, 47.4), 9-253 (Emrit, 49.4).

Bowling: Wintz 10-0-67-2 (w6), Jacobs 6-1-12-2 (w1), Reifer 10-1-39-1 (w1), Barnwell 6-0-27-0 (w2), Permaul 10-0-56-3 (w3), Johnson 3-0-19-0 (w1), Motie 5-0-34-1 (w1).


A. Fudadin lbw b Deonarine                   9  (30 balls, 1x4)

V. Singh st Ramdin b Mohammed         20  (64 balls, 2x4)

S. Chanderpaul b Deonarine                  6  (13 balls)

*L. Johnson lbw b Jagessar                  20  (30 balls, 2x4)

+A. Bramble st Ramdin b Hosein          51  (44 balls, 2x4, 4x6)

R. Reifer b Jagessar                            12  (14 balls, 1x4)

C. Barnwell b Emrit                             22  (32 balls, 2x4)

V. Permaul c wk Ramdin b Hosein          6  (10 balls)

P. Wintz c Hope b Jagessar                  26  (29 balls, 2x4, 1x6)

G. Motie not out                                 17  (25 balls, 2x4)

S. Jacobs retired out                             0  (0 balls)

Extras (b2, lb4, w10)                          16

TOTAL (all out, 48.3 overs)                 205

Fall of wickets: 1-26 (Fudadin, 12.1 ov), 2-38 (Chanderpaul, 16.2), 3-42 (Singh, 19.2), 4-107 (Johnson, 28), 5-119 (Bramble, 30.5), 6-141 (Reifer, 35.1), 7-154 (Permaul, 38.5), 8-165 (Barnwell, 41.1), 9-205 (Wintz, 48.3).

Bowling: Emrit 9-1-36-1 (w3), Jagessar 9.3-2-36-3 (w1), Deonarine 9-1-35-2, Richards 7-0-25-0, Mohammed 4-0-25-1, Hosein 10-0-42-2 (w6).

Bowling: Emrit 9-1-36-1 (w3), Jagesar 9.3-2-36-3 (w1), Deonarine 9-1-35-2, Richards 7-0-25-0, Mohamed 4-0-25-1, Hosein 10-0-42-2 (w6).

Result: Red Force won by 54 runs.

Player-of-the-Match: Darren Bravo.

Umpires: Patrick Gustard, Leslie Reifer Jr.

Reserve Umpire: Joel Wilson.

TV umpire: Lennox Abrahams.

Match Referee: Carlyle Felix.

Toss: Jaguars.

We are re-designing the new website.

This temporary website will allow viewers to read the latest articles without interruption, over the next couple weeks.

Previous Article Next Article