Barbados finish third as Jamaica grab inaugural WICB Women's T20 title

Kingston, Jamaica, August 18 - ( - Barbados finished third mwith a seven-wicket win over Guyana while Jamaica were crowned champions of the inaugural West Indies Cricket Board Women’s Twenty20 tournament after beating Trinidad & Tobago by 16 runs in the final.

Veteran all-rounder Pamela Lavine put in a tidy all-round performance for Barbados in the morning match at Sabina Park.

Lavine was the most successful Barbados bowler with three for 13 from four overs, as Guyana made 88 for seven off 20 overs. She returned to topscore with 21.

In the afternoon, also at Sabina Park, Jamaica were spurred by another outstanding all-round performance from World Player-of-the-Year nominee Stafanie Taylor.

The Jamaica captain grabbed four for nine from her allotted four overs and fellow West Indies Women’s player Shanel Daley captured three for 13 from 3.2 overs, as Trinidad & Tobago failed in their bid to overhaul a victory target of 102.

Taylor had paved the way with a typically composed, unbeaten 57 from 63 balls that included just five fours, as Jamaica reached 101 for five from their 20 overs.

It was second major women’s final in which the Jamaicans had toppled T&T, following their capture of the Regional Women’s Super50 tournament last year in Barbados.

Taylor earned the Player-of-the-Match award and was also voted the Most Valuable Player of the tournament.

St. Vincent & the Grenadines took fifth place, following a 20-run win over Grenada in the Consolation Playoff at Kensington Park.

Captain Cordel Jack too, had a solid all-round effort, leading the way with 49 not out in her side’s 116 for four off 20 overs, and taking 2-20 from four overs. Grenada replied with 96 for three.

Prior to this, St. Lucia had grabbed seventh place ahead of Dominica with a nine-run win in the Minor Playoff at the same ground.

St. Lucia posted 97 for seven from their 20 overs, despite Annica Benjamin taking four for 22 from four overs. Dominica were left to finish the tournament without a single win, when they could only muster 88 for eight.


Summarised scores:


Grand Final

At Sabina Park:

Jamaica beat Trinidad & Tobago by 16 runs.

Jamaica 101-5 (20 overs) (Stafanie Taylor 57 not out, Jodiann Morgan 27; Stacy Ann King 2-12).

Trinidad & Tobago 85 all out (18.2 overs) (Britney Cooper 18, Deandra Dottin 16, Amanda Samaroo 15, Felicia Walters 13, Anisa Mohammed 13; Stafanie Taylor 4-9, Shanel Daley 3-13, Vanessa Watts 2-14).


Consolation Final

At Sabina Park:

Barbados beat Guyana by seven wickets.

Guyana 88-7 (20 overs) (June Ogle 30, Shemaine Campbelle 15, Prudence Williams 12; Pamela Lavine 3-13, Shaquana Quintyne 2-13).

Barbados 89-3 (17.3 overs) (Pamela Lavine 21, Kycia Knight 18, Shaquana Quintyne 17 not out, Shakera Selman 13 not out, Kyshona Knight 11).


Consolation Playoff

At Kensington Park:

St. Vincent & the Grenadines beat Grenada by 20 runs.

St. Vincent & the Grenadines 116-4 (20 overs) (Cordel Jack 49 not out, Juliana Nero 14, Clea Hoyte 14; Afy Fletcher 2-23).

Grenada 96-3 (20 overs) (Debbie Ann Lewis 36 not out, Anisha Thomas 32, Afy Fletcher 18; Cordel Jack 2-20).



Minor Playoff

At Kensington Park:

St. Lucia beat Dominica by nine runs.

St. Lucia 97-7 (20 overs) (Paulina Francis 31, Yasmine St. Ange 22, Verena Felicien 11 not out, Roylin Cooper 11; Annica Benjamin 4-22).

Dominica 88-8 (20 overs) (Tiffany Graham 21, Rosilia Registe 14, Annica Andrew 12, Kimara Sabroche 10; Chemeka Abraham 2-10, Yasmine St. Ange 2-13, Verena Felicien 2-20).


We are re-designing the new website.

This temporary website will allow viewers to read the latest articles without interruption, over the next couple weeks.

Previous Article Next Article