Return to Article

Title: Eight Barbadians in West Indies 14-man squad for one-off Test against Afghanistan


Date Submitted: 2019-10-15

Keywords: Jason Holder, Kraigg Brathwaite, Shai Hope, Kemar Roach

Region & WICB News - Port-of-Spain, Trinidad, October 15 - ( - Eight Barbadians are in a 14-man West Indies squad for the one-off Test against Afghanistan at Dehradun in India, November 27 to December 1.

The eight are captain and fast bowling all-rounder Jason Holder, opening batsman Kraigg Brathwaite, middle order batsmen Shamarh Brooks, Shai Hope, who also keeps wicket and Roston Chase, who also bowls off-spin, wicket-keeper/batsmen Shane Dowrich, left-arm spinner Jomel Warrican and fast bowler Kemar Roach.

Three squads - One-Day International, Twenty20 and Test - were announced by new lead selector Roger Harper at a live media conference, which started 45 minutes late this morning at the Queen’s Park Oval after being originally advertised for 11 o’ clock.

Holder has also been named in the ODI and T20 squads, which will be led by veteran Trinidad & Tobago batting all-rounder Kieron Pollard.

In the series against Afghanistan, there will be three ODIs on November 6, 9 and 11, as well as three T20Is on November 14, 16 and 17.

Squads (in order of their announcements and names):

ODI - Kieron Pollard (captain), Evin Lewis, Shai Hope, Shimron Hetmyer, Sunil Ambris, Nicholas Pooran, Brandon King, Jason Holder, Roston Chase, Hayden Walsh Jr, Khary Pierre, Sheldon Cottrell, Romario Shepherd, Keemo Paul, Alzarri Joseph.

T20I - Kieron Pollard (captain), Nicholas Pooran, Brandon King, Shimron Hetmyer, Evin Lewis, Sherfane Rutherford, Jason Holder, Hayden Walsh Jr, Khary Pierre, Sheldon Cottrell, Alzarri Joseph, Lendl Simmons, Fabian Allen, Denesh Ramdin, Kesrick Williams.

Test - Jason Holder (captain), Kraigg Brathwaite, John Campbell, Shai Hope, Shimron Hetmyer, Roston Chase, Sunil Ambris, Shamarh Brooks, Rakheem Cornwall, Shane Dowrich, Jomel Warrican, Kemar Roach, Keemo Paul, Alzarri Joseph.

© ECD Solutions for 2020