BCA 2019 Image Loading

Inside the Region & WICB News

with bcacricket.org

Date Published: 2018-02-04 

Summary: Report

Click: View Countries Reading

Region & WICB News

Powell to captain West Indies ‘A’ against England Lions in “Test” series

St. John’s, Antigua, February 4 – (www.bcacricket.org) - Test opener Kieran Powell will captain West Indies ‘A’ in the three-match unofficial “Test” series against England Lions in the Caribbean.

Batsman Shamarh Brooks, who previously led the side, is vice-captain.

The four-day matches run from February 11 to March 1 and will feature a “Test” using the pink ball. This will be the final match under lights at the Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Ground in Antigua. Play will start at 2 pm (Eastern Caribbean time).

The other matches will be Trelawney Multiplex and Sabina Park in Jamaica.

Following the “Tests”, Windies “A” will face England Lions in three 50-over matches at the Coolidge Cricket Ground in Antigua. The squad for those matches will be named at a later date.

Commenting on the squad, chairman of selectors Courtney Browne said: “With a strong England Lions team touring the Caribbean, the selection panel felt that it was a good opportunity to strengthen the A team with some of our Test players who will not have the opportunity to play any first-class cricket ahead of the Sri Lanka series. This series also provides some of the incumbent Test players the opportunity to restate a claim for a position in the Test match squad for the what will be two important home series (vs Sri Lanka and Bangladesh in June and July).

“The team also includes several players who have been part of the ‘A’ Team programme before and we believe their focus should be on performances that will elevate them to the senior team. We originally included Shermon Lewis, an exciting young fast bowler, but he had to withdraw due to injury. His replacement is Jeremiah Louis, a talented swing bowler, who did really well during the PCL four-day season. He is also a capable batsman and will fit well into this set-up. The panel wishes the team and its management every success on their journey.”

Squad: Kieran Powell (captain), Shamarh Brooks (vice-captain), Jermaine Blackwood, John Campbell, Rahkeem Cornwall, Miguel Cummins, Shane Dowrich, Jahmar Hamilton, Keon Joseph, Jeremiah Louis, Raymon Reifer, Vishaul Singh, Jomel Warrican.


1st “Test” – Trelawny Multiplex, Jamaica

Sunday, February 11 to Wednesday, February 14

2nd “Test” – Sabina Park, Jamaica

Sunday, February 18 to Wednesday, February 21

3rd “Test” – Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Ground, Antigua

Monday, February 26 to Thursday, March 1

Document Author bcacricket.org
Date Published 2018-02-04
Division Region & WICB News
Related Region & WICB News Articles
Article Options: Print - Comment
ECD Solutions 2019