BCA 2018 Image Loading

Inside the Region & WICB News

with bcacricket.org

Date Published: 2017-12-05 

Summary: Report

Click: View Countries Reading

Region & WICB News

Miller recalled to West Indies ODI squad

St. John’s Antigua, December 5 - (www.bcacricket.org) - Jamaica Scorpions captain and left-arm spinner Nikita Miller has been recalled to the West Indies One-Day International (ODI) squad for the three-match series against New Zealand this month.

Miller, who has played 46 ODIs and nine T20s, last represented West Indies in the 2015 World Cup, against Zimbabwe. In the 2016-17 Regional Super50, he took nine wickets in nine games, at an average of 32, but had an economy rate of 3.67.

Also in the 15-man squad is uncapped fast bowler Ronsford Beaton.

Experienced medium-fast bowling all-rounder Rayad Emrit was named in the Twenty20 squad for the first time.

The Cricket West Indies selection panel noted that opener Evin Lewis will miss the T20 series, due to personal reasons.

Chairman of selectors Courtney Browne said Miller's inclusion was done with one eye on preparing an experienced team for the World Cup Qualifier in Zimbabwe next March.

“Miller has played ODI cricket previously. Along with his vast experience in our domestic competitions, we felt that he is the right fit to form a part of our ODI bowling unit at this time. With the World Cup qualifiers fast approaching, we felt that this is not the right time to introduce an inexperienced slow bowler,” Browne said.

“This series against New Zealand and our CWI Regional Super50 Cup next year are the only chances we will have for preparation prior to the World Cup qualifiers, which are scheduled to be played next March in Zimbabwe.

“So these matches will be used to help us identify the players that will play during the qualifiers, and this is why we have also taken the opportunity to introduce Ronsford Beaton. Though, he is more known for his pace and variations in T20I cricket, we believe he can add value within our ODI bowling unit.”

On the selection of the T20 squad, Browne said: “The selection of Emrit is to fill one of the all-rounder roles. He has always been on the fringes of selection and now gets his opportunity. He is a whole-hearted player, and has been a consistent performer in our domestic competitions and so the opportunity has now presented itself for him to join our T20I squad.

“Our T20I team has been playing well and continues to develop. Our strength and depth lies within the vast experience of our senior players, and good performances from some of our young players who draw their strength and learn from the senior players, so the battle against the Black Caps should make for an exciting series as they are ranked above us in this format.”


ODI: Jason Holder (captain), Jason Mohammed (vice-captain), Sunil Ambris, Ronsford Beaton, Shannon Gabriel, Chris Gayle, Kyle Hope, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Evin Lewis, Nikita Miller, Ashley Nurse, Rovman Powell, Marlon Samuels, Kesrick Williams.

T20: Carlos Brathwaite (captain), Samuel Badree, Ronsford Beaton, Rayad Emrit, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Jason Mohammed, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Rovman Powell, Marlon Samuels, Jerome Taylor, Chadwick Walton, Kesrick Williams.



Wed 20: 1st ODI – Cobham Oval, Whangerei

Sat 23: 2nd ODI – Hagley Oval, Christchurch

Tue 26: 3rd ODI – Hagley Oval, Christchurch

Fri 29: 1st T20I – Saxton Oval, Nelson


Mon 1: 2nd T20I – Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui

Wed 3: 3rd T20I – Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui

Document Author bcacricket.org
Date Published 2017-12-05
Division Region & WICB News
Related Region & WICB News Articles
Article Options: Print - Comment
ECD Solutions 2018