BCA 2018 Image Loading

Inside the WICB 4 Day Tournament

with bcacricket.org

Date Published: 2017-08-11 

Summary: Report

Click: View Countries Reading

WICB 4 Day Tournament

First two Barbados first-class matches to clash with BCA top league penultimate series

Bridgetown, Barbados, August 11 - (www.bcacricket.org) - Barbados Pride’s first two matches in the 2017-18 Cricket West Indies (CWI) Digicel first-class Championship are at home and will clash with the penultimate series in the top BCA Elite division three-day Championship.

The Pride will face long-standing rivals Trinidad & Tobago Red Force in a Day/Night battle at Kensington Oval, starting October 26. Play starts at 3 p.m.

The third day’s play (October 28) is also listed as the opening day for Series 8 in the Elite division, which continues on November 4 and 5.

In Round 2, November 2 to 5, Barbados Pride will oppose Leeward Islands Hurricanes.

The four-day Championship ends January 21and all matches are now regularly scheduled to start on a Thursday, rather than Friday, in a break from the long-standing tradition in the modern history (1966 onwards) of the West Indies first-class championship.

“We have tightened up the schedule, due to the heavy amount of cricket we have coming up, and it would also allow us to complete the #D4Day ahead of the Regional Super50 Tournament,” said Roland Holder, CWI manager for cricket operations.

“A Thursday start also gives fans the option of coming out to see the end of the matches over the weekend, rather than having to take Monday off, so this is being done with them in mind.”

In the other first round matches, Guyana Jaguars, the champions for the last three seasons, will clash with Jamaica Scorpions at the Guyana National Stadium and Windward Islands Volcanoes meet Leeward Islands Hurricanes at the Grenada National Stadium.


(Scheduled daily start time 10 am, except where indicated in brackets)

Round 1 – October 26 to 29

Jaguars v Scorpions – National Cricket Stadium, Guyana (9:30 am)

Pride v Red Force – Kensington Oval, Barbados (3 pm)

Volcanoes v Hurricanes – National Cricket Stadium, Grenada

Round 2 – November 2 to 5

Red Force v Scorpions – Queen’s Park Oval, Trinidad

Volcanoes v Jaguars – Daren Sammy National Cricket Ground, St. Lucia

Pride v Hurricanes – Kensington Oval


Round 3 – November 9 to 12

Scorpions v Pride – Sabina Park, Jamaica (3 pm)

Hurricanes v Jaguars – Vivian Richards Cricket Ground, Antigua

Red Force v Volcanoes – Queen’s Park Oval


Round 4 – November 16 to 19

Hurricanes v Scorpions – Warner Park, St. Kitts

Red Force v Jaguars – Queen’s Park (3 pm)

Volcanoes v Pride – Arnos Vale Sports Complex, St. Vincent




Round 5 – November 30 to December 3

Scorpions v Volcanoes – Sabina Park

Hurricanes v Red Force – Vivian Richards Cricket Ground

Jaguars v Pride – Guyana National Stadium (9:30 am)


Round 6 – December 7 to 10

Scorpions v Red Force – Sabina Park

Hurricanes v Pride – Warner Park

Jaguars v Volcanoes – Guyana National Stadium (9:30 am)


Round 7 – December 14 to 17

Jaguars v Hurricanes – Guyana National Stadium (3 pm)

Red Force v Pride – Queen’s Park Oval

Volcanoes v Scorpions – Windsor Park, Dominica (3 pm)




Round 8 – January 4 to 7

Red Force v Hurricanes – Queen’s Park Oval

Scorpions v Jaguars – Sabina Park

Pride v Volcanoes – Kensington Oval


Round 9 – January 11 to 14

Scorpions v Hurricanes – Sabina Park

Pride v Jaguars – Kensington Oval

Volcanoes v Red Force – Windsor Park


Round 10 – January 18 to 21

Pride v Scorpions – Kensington Oval

Jaguars v Red Force – Guyana National Stadium (9:30 am)

Hurricanes v Volcanoes – Warner Park (3 pm)


Document Author bcacricket.org
Date Published 2017-08-11
Division WICB 4 Day Tournament

Keywords/Players in this Article

Related WICB 4 Day Tournament Articles
Article Options: Print - Comment
ECD Solutions 2018