BCA 2019 Image Loading

Inside the WICB Under-15 Championship

with bcacricket.org

Date Published: 2015-07-25 

Summary: Report, Scorecard

Click: View Countries Reading

WICB Under-15 Championship

Barbados beat Jamaica by 7 wickets in Round 2 of WICB Under-15 Championship

Bridgetown, Barbados, July 25 - (www.bcacricket.org) - After the frustration of a washout in their opening match against Leeward Islands, Barbados swept aside Jamaica by seven wickets at Albion in Round 2 of the WICB Under-15 Championship.

Jamaica were bowled out for 82 in 32.5 overs after they were sent in, and Barbados responded with 83 for three in 44.5 overs.

Only two batsmen - captain and opener Kirk McKenzie (17) and Geordae Seymour (16) reached double figures as Jamaica lost their last seven wickets for 31 runs.

McKenzie struck two fours, which were the only boundaries in the innings. He faced 19 balls.

New ball bowler Ajani Ince, who prised out the first two batsmen, grabbed three for 13 off 6.5 overs to earn the Player-of-the-Match award.

There was support from Shemar Persaud with three for 20 off ten overs and Rikeem Headley, three for 27 off nine overs.

Skipper and opener Nico Reifer, another in the long line of the well-known Reifer cricketing family, who have represented Barbados at various levels from the Colts through to the first-class dating back to the 1960s, topscored for Barbados with 25 off 83 balls.

Wicket-keeper Azan Holligan also batted patiently to score an unbeaten 20 off 114 deliveries at No. 3, while Mekhail Marshall contributed 16, which included two fours - the only boundaries of the innings.

It was the second defeat for Jamaica, who lost to Windward Islands by 46 runs.

In the other matches, title holders Guyana beat Leeward Islands by seven wickets at Providence (Leewards 90 all out (46 overs), Guyana 94-3 (25.2 overs), while there was no play between Trinidad & Tobago and Windward Islands at Enmore.

Trinidad & Tobago also had a washout against Guyana at the same venue.

Scorecard of the Barbados-Jamaica match:



*K. McKenzie c Harris b Ince           17  (19 balls, 2x4)

O. Brown c Bishop b Ince                  1  (8 balls)

R. Simpson c Reifer b Headley           8  (27 balls)

G. Seymour lbw b Headley              16  (37 balls)

Z. Burton c Persaud b Headley          6  (11 balls)

K. Anniford c Harris b I. Persaud       9  (33 balls)

+A. Minott b S. Persaud                   7  (22 balls)

A. Blake c Ince b S. Persaud             0  (6 balls)

M. Thompson not out                       6  (16 balls)

R. Jacob c Harris b S. Persaud          2  (3 balls)

M. Comerie c I. Persaud b Ince         2  (15 balls)

Extras (b1, lb2, w5)                        8

TOTAL (all out, 32.5 overs)              82

Fall of wickets: 1-9 (Brown), 2-27 (Mckenzie), 3-44 (Simpson), 4-51 (Seymour), 5-54 (Burton), 6-70 (Minott), 7-70 (Blake), 8-72 (Anniford), 9-76 (Jacob), 10-82 (Comerie).

Bowling: Ince 6.5-0-13-3 (w1), Young 2-0-12-0 (w3), Headley 9-1-27-3, S. Persaud 10-2-20-3 (w1), I. Persaud 5-1-7-1.


*N. Reifer c & b Comerie                 25  (83 balls)

S. Harris b Simpson                          4  (19 balls)

+A. Holligan not out                        20  (114 balls)

M. Marshall c Thompson b Anniford  16  (31 balls, 2x4)

N. Bishop not out                             3  (22 balls)

Extras (b2, w13)                            15

TOTAL (3 wks, 44.5 overs)              83

Fall of wickets: 1-17 (Harris), 2-49 (Reifer), 3-71 (Marshall).

Did not bat: Z. Clarke, R. Headley, A. Ince, N. Young, S. Persaud, I. Persaud.

Bowling: Thompson 2-0-7-0 (w4), Blake 2-0-3-0 (w2), Simpson 8.5-0-21-1 (w1), Comerie 10-0-16-1 (w2), Jacob 9-1-16-0 (w1), Anniford 9-5-11-1 (w1), McKenzie 4-1-7-0.

Result: Barbados won by seven wickets.

Player-of-the-Match: Ajani Ince.

Toss: Barbados.

Umpires: I. Moakan, G. Sukhdeo. Reserve: M. Yosef-Yisrael.

Match referee: G. Culbard.

Scorers: G. Allicock, K. Klien.



Round 3 – Monday, July 27

Jamaica v Trinidad & Tobago – Guyana National Stadium

Barbados v Guyana – Everest

Windward Islands v Leeward Islands – Wales


Round 4 – Tuesday, July 28

Guyana v Jamaica – Enmore

Leeward Islands v Trinidad & Tobago – Bourda Oval

Windward Islands v Barbados – Guyana National Stadium


Round 5 – Thursday, July 30

Jamaica v Leeward Islands – Everest

Guyana v Windward Islands – Guyana National Stadium

Trinidad & Tobago vs Barbados – Wales

Document Author bcacricket.org
Date Published 2015-07-25
Division WICB Under-15 Championship
Related WICB Under-15 Championship Articles
Article Options: Print - Comment
ECD Solutions 2019